Building Up To The Medals At 16th Asian Games

17 nations are contesting 14 events at the 16th Asian Games in Guangzhou, China. The athletes have faced a mix of conditions and the countdown is on to decide the medals.

167 athletes from Bahrain, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, India, iran, Japan, Krygyzstan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates are now mid-way through the competition.

The biggest team is from the host nation with athletes competing in all events, followed by Sinapgore which is represented in all except for the women's windsurfing events. The smallest team is from Qatar with just one sailor who is competing in the Laser Radial.

The Laser Radial has the biggest fleet with 12 sailors and is one of only two open events, the other being the Hobie 16. 2010 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship silver medallist Keerati Bualong (THA) leads the Radial standings but by just one poing from Hisaki Nagai from Japan. Thailand also lead the Hobie 16 eventwith Korean in second and Singapore third.

The Optimist has two fleets in action and after ten races Xiaotian Zhang (CHN) leads overall after posting four consecutive bullets from Malaysia's Ahmad Latif Khan Ali Sabri Khan (MAS) who is in second. Thailand's Noppakao Poonpat leads the girl's Optimist fleet ahead of Yuting Lu from China and Min Kimbely Lim (SiN). The top three are in a solid position to take home medals as there is a ten point cushion back to the fourth placed Malaysian sailor.

Windsurfers are well represented in Guangzhou with men's and women's fleets for the RS:X and Mistral.

Leading the men's Mistral is 2008 Olympian I Gusti Made Oka Sulaksana from Indonesia who is not counting a single result worse than third. Hot on his heels is King Yin Chan (HKG) with Fuwen Yao (CHN) in the bronze medal position. There are ten athletes in the men's RS:X fleet and Aichen Wang (HKG) has dominated proceedings since day one, he counts seven race wins from nine races and leads by an emphatic 12 points from second placed Makoto Tomizawa (JPN) who finished in tenth place at the 2008 Olympic Games. Ek Boonsawad (THA) is tied on points with Tomizawa so an exicting show down is on the cards.

The women's board events are both lead by Chinese athletes. Ning Wang has stormed through the women's Mistral fleet with seven race wins from nine races. She leads by six points from Hei Man Chan(HKG). In the RS:X fleet Sasa Sun has an astonishing eight wins and discards a second place from race five to lead from Wai Kei Chan (HKG).

2008 Olympian Jeemin Ha (KOR) leads the men's Laser fleet from Xinru Cheng (SIN) and Huichao Chen.

The Japanese crew of Ryunosuke Harada and Yuugo Yoshida have dominated the men's 470 event with six bullets from nine races. They lead by ten points from Weidong Wang and Daokun Deng (CHN). It is no surpise that Ai Kondo and Wakako Tabata (JPN) are leading the women's 470 fleet. The winners of the 2010 Skandia Sail for Gold Regatta have won eight of their nine races so far.

Singapore teams are leading both 420 events with the women's team of Rachel Qing Lee an Cecila Low dominate in the women's fleet.

Racing continues on Saturday.