Medals Decided At Perth International Regatta

The Perth International Regatta wrapped up in with the eight gold medals being shared between sailors from seven nations.

Australians Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen won the 49er class from Dylan Fletcher and Alain Sign from Great Britain and Emmanuel Dyen and Stéphane Christidis from France.

The Men's 470 gold medal was won by Gideon Kliger and Eran Sela from Israel. Great Britain finished in second and third places with Nic Asher and Elliot Willis followed by Luke Patience and Stuart Bithell. Kliger said that he and Sela were hoping to stay in Fremantle for another two or three weeks to get in some extra training in the local conditions ahead of next year's ISAF Sailing World Championships.

Sweden won the Women's 470 with Lisa Ericson and Astrid Gabrielsson, who finished ahead of Ingrid Petitjean and Nadège Douroux of France and Denmark's Henriette Koch and Lene Sommer.

Sailing back to the boat park, winning Swedish skipper Lisa Ericson said "it was absolutely fabulous to win and we are so happy to be able to come back next year."

The final Medal Races were sailed close in to the Fremantle shoreline, with spectators on the beaches and breakwaters getting a grandstand view of the starts and finishes. This will also be the case in next year's ISAF Sailing World Championships in Perth. In the Men's Laser, ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year, Tom Slingsby, finished second in the Medal Race to take the gold from Tonci Stipanovi? of Croatia and Paul Goodison of Great Britain.

The Medal Race on Saturday for the Laser Radial was abandoned and two Finnish sailors Sari Multala and Tuula Tenkanen took first and second on the fleet results with Alberte Holm Lindberg taking third place.

The RS:X windsurfer sailors got in only one of their two scheduled Medal Races. The open Medal Race was sailed resulting in gold for Marina Alabau from Spain. Jessica Crisp of Australia finished second with Marine Rambaud of France in third place.

The Medal Race for the Men's windsurfer event was abandoned, which left Dorian Van Rijsselberge of The Netherlands with the gold medal, followed by Ricardo Santos of Brazil and Jon-Paul Tobin of New Zealand.

The Finn event was decided on Saturday when the Medal Race was abandoned, which left fleet leader jonathan Lobertof France winning the gold, with Giles Scott of Great Britain second and Rafa Trujillo villar of Spain third.

The weather on the last day of the regatta ranged from light to moderate winds under a cloudy sky with occasional rain showers.