Day 8 PKRA Australia

PKRA end of season finale

The final day of the Gold Coast Kitesurfing Pro 2010 competition ended with an action packed day of kiteboarding entertainment beginning with the Red Bull Boarder Cross and ending with an extravagant closing ceremony awards Gala. It was the first time in PKRA history that all competitors and crew had the opportunity to put away the board shorts and show off their fashionable glamorous attire.

The Red Bull boarder cross is a discipline that all competitors are willing to partake. Riders rushed to the start line in hopes of being the fastest to swivel around the Red Bull buoys edging their way to the final obstacle near the shore where jumping over the last Red Bull sausage buoy was mandatory. The wind was rather light therefore many riders, especially the girls had a difficult time completing the final task crashing into the final obstacle. F-One rider Mitu Monteiro (F-One, CPV) skimmed through the water like a rocket, finishing in first place enabling him the Red Bull Boarder Cross discipline champion title. German rider Mario Rodwald (North, GER) followed closely behind Monteiro taking second place while French competitor Julien Kerneur (Takoon, FRA) took third. In the women’s division, Jalou Langeree (Naish, NED) rushed her way to the finish line in the blink of an eye enabling her the women’s Red Bull Boarder Cross discipline title while Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR) takes second place and Karolina Winkowska (Slingshot, POL) followed in third place.

A group of five Parachutist jumped from an airplane more than 10, 000 feet above the event site landing directly on the beach where competitors, spectators and crew watched in amazement marking the end of a fantastic day and the end of the victorious 2010 PKRA World Tour season. During the award ceremony Gala, the newly crowned 2010 PKRA Men’s Freestyle World Tour Champion Andy Yates (Slingshot, AUS) arrived with his friends in a limo where he was greeted by fans.

The ballroom was extravagantly decorated; Cabrinha kites hung from the ceiling, tables were elegantly set and fit for any king. Event organizer Anton Richardson thanked everyone with his warm and friendly speech giving praise to his many accomplices for all their hard work and dedication over the past year as well as all the organizations and sponsors who helped make this event possible.

PKRA tour manager Mauricio Toscano honored all the riders for their hard work and dedication to the sport over the years and for reigning the PKRA World Tour the most valuable and prestigious kiteboarding tour in the world. This year’s near flawless season has led the PKRA World Tour as well as the sport of kiteboarding to new heights and the 2011 PKRA World Tour season will mirror nothing less than success and triumph for subsequent years.

The PKRA Gold Coast Kitesurfing Pro 2010 event is sponsored in part by Nissan, Cabrinha, Red Bull, Gold Coast International Hotel, Fakie and The Temple with official partners Queensland Events, Gold Coast City Council, Tourism Queensland, Gold Coast Tourism, Katz Management, Glamorous Life Swimwear, Lovebirds Australia, Mojoz Swimwear with special support by Minotaur Sports Management Party Ltd. MSL – Michael Sing Lawyers, Keystone Events and 12 Below.

Congratulation to all the 2010 PKRA World Tour Champions!



1. Mitu Monteiro (F-One, CPV)

2. Mario Rodwald (North, GER)

3. Julien Kerneur (Takoon, FRA)


1. Jalou Langeree (Naish, NED)

2. Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR)

3. Karolina Winkowska (Slingshot, POL)


1. Andy Yates (Slingshot, AUS)

2. Alex Pastor (Airush, ESP)

3. Youri Zoon (Slingshot, NED)


1. Gisela Pulido (Airush, ESP)

2. Bruna Kajiya (Flexifoil, BRA)

3. Karolina Winkowska (Slingshot, POL)


1. Guilly Brandao (Mormaii, BRA)

2. Mitu Monteiro (F-One, CPV)

3. Ian Owczarzak Glaza (Mormaii, BRA)


1. Gisela Pulido (Airush, ESP)

2. Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR)

3. Ainhoa Garcia (Airush, ESP)


1. Julien Kerneur (Takoon, FRA)

2. Olivier Dansin (North, FRA)

3. Bruno Sroka (Cabrinha, FRA)


1. Caroline Adrien (Cabrinha, FRA)

2. Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR)

3. Kristin Boese (Best, GER)