ASP World Surfing Awards Prepares for Sports Night of Nights

GOLD COAST, Queensland, Australia (Monday, February 21, 2011). The ASP World Surfing Awards is set to commence this Thursday, February 24, 2011 at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre beginning at 6pm.

Surfing’s “night of nights”, the ASP World Surfing Awards, is a gala event, hosting the world’s best surfers as well as distinguished figures from the surfing industry in honor of the 2010 ASP World Champions.

Kelly Slater (USA), 39, will accept his history-making and unprecedented tenth ASP World Title on Thursday, days before opening his 2011 ASP World Title campaign at the upcoming Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover.

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 23, will make her own history this evening, collecting her fourth consecutive ASP Women’s World Title. Gilmore will begin her 2011 assault this weekend at the opening event of the 2011 ASP Women’s World Title season, the Roxy Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover.

Slater and Gilmore will headline a slew of incredible athletes on the evening.

Awards Recipient List:

2010 ASP World Champion:Kelly Slater (USA)

2010 ASP Women’s World Champion:Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2010 ASP World Tour Runner-Up:Jordy Smith (ZAF)

2010 ASP Women’s World Tour Runner-Up:Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)

2010 ASP World Tour Rookie of the Year: Owen Wright (AUS)

2010 ASP Women’s World Tour Rookie of the Year:Carissa Moore (HAW

2010 ASP World Tour ‘Breakthrough Performer’:TBA

2010 ASP Women’s World Tour ‘Breakthrough Performer’:TBA

2010 ASP World Longboard Champion:Duane DeSoto (HAW)

2010 ASP Women’s World Longboard Champion:Cori Schumacher (HAW)

2010 ASP World Junior Champion:Jack Freestone (AUS)

2010 ASP Women’s World Junior Champion:Alizee Arnaud (FRA)

Peter Whittaker Award:TBA

For more information, log onto