Stop #2 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink
Sunset Beach, Oahu, Hawaii - Nov. 24 - Dec. 6

  • Competition to be held at 2 breaks: Kammies & Val's Reef
  • Men's Rounds of 128, 96 & 64, No Women
  • Waves head high, nice conditions
HONOLULU - (Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2010) -- Following a one-week hiatus due to no surf on Oahu's North Shore, the men's O'Neill World Cup of Surfing returns to the waves at Sunset Beach this-morning at 8am. Competition will be staged at two breaks, with all odd-numbered heats surfing Kammie's and all even-numbered heats surfing Val's Reef. The remaining heats of the round of 128, as well as the entire rounds of 96 and 64 will be held, with all major seeds to surf. Waves are in the head-high range.

Among those to hit the water this-morning are former O'Neill World Cup champions Sunny Garcia (HAW) and Myles Padaca (HAW), 2010 Vans Triple Crown title contender Joel Centeio (HAW); as well as Maui air sensation Clay Marzo; South Africa's Rudy Palmboom; Californian Chris Ward; Maxime Huscenot (France); and Yuri Sodre (Brazil).

The O'Neill Women's World Cup of Surfing is expected to run and wrap up here tomorrow, when Surfline.com, official forecasters for the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, expect another slight increase in wave heights. The final rounds of men's competition is also scheduled to run tomorrow.

Live internet coverage of the O'Neill World Cup of Surfing happens every day, starting at 7:45 a.m. with  "THE CALL" - the Triple Crown's live daily morning show that features all the latest news, highlights and happenings. The series will also be broadcast live  on television around Hawaii on Oceanic Time Warner Digital Cable channels 250 and HD1250.

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing consists of three men's and three women's professional surfing events that are the final stop on the 2010 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Tour. Now in its 28th year, the Vans Triple Crown is considered the most prestigious title in surfing next to the ASP World Title.

Each event has an extended holding period with competition taking place on the biggest and best days of surf at each venue.