Billabong Pro Tahiti Rounds 2 and 3 Called ON at Teahupoo

TEAHUPOO, Taiarapu/Tahiti - The Billabong Pro Tahiti has been called back on this morning, with the world's best surfers hitting the three-to-four foot (1metre) waves at Teahupoo at 6:30am.

The fifth stop on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti expects to run another full day of competition, and with the ASP’s midyear field reduction from 45 to 34 (Top 32 finishers plus two surfer wildcards) coming into very real effect today, the world’s best surfers will be fighting for their survival amongst the elite.

“We still have some swell on offer today and we’ll be recommencing competition at 6:30am,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’re making the most out of the swell we have on offer and are looking for another 22-heat day.”

A full breakdown of ASP World Title Rankings possibilities, including the ASP midyear field reduction, for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are available at

Up first this morning will be Taylor Knox (USA), 39, up against Jay Thompson (AUS), 28, in Heat 7 of Round 2 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

Heat 7:
Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 9: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 10: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Adam Melling (AUS) vs. Mick Campbell (AUS)
Heat 12: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 13: Roy Powers (HAW) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 14: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Dean Morrsion (AUS)
Heat 15: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 16: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)