Robertson Books his Ticket to the Monsoon Cup

Terengganu,Malaysia - Phil Robertson (NZL) WAKA Racing put in a sublime performance against the emerging talent of David Gilmour (AUS) Team Gilmour to win the Asian Match Racing Championship (AMRC) and book his place in next month’s World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) finale event, the Monsoon Cup.

Gilmour, son of four-time Match Racing World Champion Peter Gilmour, had the upper hand on Robertson earlier in the week at the five-star Ri-Yaz Heritage Marina Resort and Spa in Pulau Duyong having triumphed over him in both qualifying matches. It was however the defending Champion Robertson who masterfully defeated his nearest rival 2-0 in the final.

Robertson will now join Jeremy Koo (MAS) Koo Racing Team-Evernew - winner of the Malaysian Match Racing Championship (MMRC), the top eight skippers in the World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) standings, the winner of the upcoming Sunseeker Australia Cup and one wildcard entry for the Monsoon Cup which takes place from 30th November to 5th December at the world class Ri-Yaz Heritage Marina Resort and Spa.

A delighted Robertson said: “This year’s competition was so much harder to win as the skill level of all the skippers has gone up tremendously. David was a worthy opponent as he beat me twice in the qualifying sessions, but I think my experience of taking part in more match racing events around the world was the deciding factor. My crew performed tremendously and got better as the event went on.”

Looking ahead to the Monsoon Cup, Robertson was in buoyant mood: “I was sixth last year but am confident of doing better this year,” said Robertson. “I will be taking part in two events before the Monsoon Cup and it will certainly help me sharpen up my skills.”

With the Match Racing World Champion crown and a large slice of the USD475,000 prize money on the table at the Monsoon Cup on the table, the thoughts of the top 5 teams in the WMRT standings will be very much focused on Malaysia. Only 17 points separate the top three teams of Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team, Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing and Ben Ainslie (GBR) TEAMORIGIN. With the Monsoon Cup offering 1.5 times more points than a standard WMRT race, that 17 point gap is easily closed with the winner set to scoop 38 points and the remaining places the following: 30 (2nd), 22 (3rd), 18 (4th), 15 (5th), 12 (6th), 9 (7th), 6 (8th).

Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team and Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar are fourth and fifth in the series and still in with a mathematical chance of winning but will need results of their opponents at the Monsoon Cup to go their way.

Asian Match Racing Championship - Final Standings
1. Phil Robertson (NZL) WAKA Racing
2. David Gilmour (AUS) Team Gilmour
3. Wataru Sakamoto (JPN) Team Siesta
4. Reuben Corbett (NZL) MAF1/Black Sheep Racing
5. Peter Nicholas (AUS) Freshie Racing Team
6. Graeme Sutherland (HKG) Team Hermes
7. Mark Lees (GBR) Team ECHO
8. Tan Wearn Haw (SIN) SINYIDAI
9. Neil Semple (THA) Capital TV