Poor Conditions Force Lay Day for Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido

PUERTO ESCONDIDO, Oaxaca/Mexico - After monitoring conditions throughout the day, event organizers at the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) 4-Star Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido were forced to call competition off with eight-to-10 foot (3 metre) closeouts on offer at the infamous Mexican Pipeline.

After calling a lay-day yesterday due to small conditions, the highly anticipated swell arrived today, igniting Playa Zicatela with massive sets. Unfortunately, poor wave quality forced a second consecutive lay day at the Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido.

“The swell has arrived but it’s mostly closeouts,” Gary Linden, Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido Contest Director said. “The swell is expected to increase tomorrow, but the conditions also show a chance of improving as well.”

Event organizers will reconvene at 6:30am local time tomorrow, July 20th, for a possible 7am start.

For all of the LIVE Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido action log on to www.quiksilver.com/puerto

For additional ASP information log on to www.aspworldtour.com or www.aspnorthamerica.org

Upcoming Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido Round of 64 Heats:
Heat 1:
Alejo Muniz (BRA), Tyler Newton (HAW), Cristobal De Col (PER), Charles Martin (GLP)
Heat 2: Andrew Bennett (USA), Gabriel Villaran (PER), Caue Wood (BRA), Julio Nurse (VEN)
Heat 3: Liam McNamara (HAW), Peter Mel (USA), Edrick Daldwin (USA), Angelo Lozano (MEX)
Heat 4: Jeronimo Vargas (BRA), Magnum Martinez (VEN), Denis Tihara (BRA), Willian Sus-A-Quan (PRI)
Heat 5: Kiron Jabour (HAW), Nils Schweizer (USA), Ricardo do Santos (BRA), Michele Veronesi (MEX)
Heat 6: Ian Goiveia (BRA), Satt Guilhermo (CHL), Mark Healy (HAW), Lucan Santamaria (USA)
Heat 7: Casey Brown (HAW), Jensen Callaway (USA), Sean Hayes (USA), Gilbert Brown (CRI)
Heat 8: Chad Compton (USA), Matt Johnson (USA), Oscar Moncada (MEX), Diego Cadena (MEX)
Heat 9: Brian Toth (PRI), Landon McNamara (HAW), Makai McNamara (HAW), Federico Pilurzu (CRI)
Heat 10: Brett Barley (USA), Junior Faria (BRA), Carlos Coco Nogales (MEX), Andan Hernandez (MEX)
Heat 11: Ricky Whitlock (USA), Leandro Usuna (ARG), Thiago Guimares (BRA), Carlos Goncalvez (EDU)
Heat 12: Kevin Sullivan (HAW), Devon Tresher (USA), Vicente Romero (BRA), Felipe Cesarano (BRA)
Heat 13: Jesse Merle-Jones (HAW), Kellen Ellison (USA), Chris Foster (HAW), Andres Di Marco (MEX)
Heat 14: Dylan Southworth (MEX), Nathan Brandi (BRA), David Rutherford (MEX), Christian Corzo (MEX)
Heat 15: Manuel Selman (CHL), Cory Arrambide (USA), Stephan Figueire (BRA), Gonzalo Velasco (PER)
Heat 16: Matt Pagain (USA), Jesse Mendes (BRA), Isaan Vegas (CRI), Angelo Donano (MEX)