Lay Day for Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach

BELLS BEACH, Victoria - Officials have called a lay day for the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach with only one foot (0.3 metre) waves.
Event Nos. 2 of 10 and 2 of 8 on the ASP World Tour and ASP Women’s World Tour respectively, the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach has already completed the opening rounds of competition for both the men and women, requiring just three more days to compete both events.

“We’re only into our third day of the waiting period and as conditions are not ideal this morning, we’ll be calling a lay day,” Damien Hardman, Rip Curl Pro Contest Director, said. “We’ve been tracking a pulse that could arrive this weekend so we’ll be keeping our eye on that, but we’ll be back tomorrow at 7:30am to see what’s on offer.”

Swellnet, official foreers for the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach, are calling for a decrease in surf today and tomorrow before a possible bump in swell for the weekend.

Tuesday saw the commencement of the Rip Curl Pro presented by Snickers where the ASP Top 45 did battle in a new format that included an elimination man-on-man Round 1. The day was one for the history books as 16 of the world’s best surfers were sent home following their opening round heat.

Yesterday played host to former seven-time ASP Women’s World Champion Layne Beachley (AUS), 36, leading a batch of experienced competitors through Round 1 of the Rip Curl Women’s Pro presented by Ford New Fiesta.

Heat 1:
C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Mick Campbell (AUS)
Heat 2: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 3: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Tim Boal (FRA)
Heat 7: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 9: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Adam Robertson (AUS)
Heat 10: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 12: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)
Heat 13: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 14: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 15: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Dean Morrison (AUS)
Heat 16: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. David Weare (ZAF)

Heat 1:
Melanie Bartels (HAW), Coco Ho (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Heat 2: Rebecca Woods (AUS), Paige Hareb (NZL), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)