Cléac'h And Delahaye Clinch Transat AG2R Mondiale Victory

Armel Le Cléac'h and Fabien Delahaye won the 10th Transat AG2R La Mondiale, cutting the finish line at St. Barth's at 04:59 UTC Tuesday 11 May.

This two-handed Transatlantic Race saw 25 boats racing in Figaro 2, 33ft monohulls which started from Concarneau, France.

Armel Le Cléac'h and Fabien Delahaye (FRA) took victory in the tenth Transat AG2R La Mondiale, after 22 days of racing, 50 minutes ahead of Banque Populaire sailed by Jeanne Gregoire and Gerald Veniard. On his 33rd birthday, the skipper of Brit Air became the first sailor to win this event twice. Four years to the day after his victory in 2006, the man from Finistere repeats the exploit this time alongside Fabien on his first Atlantic race.

Brit Air first reached the leading group during their attempt to head south to avoid being trapped by zones of forecast light winds, choosing a middle option when the fleet were dispersed from west to east along the coast of Portugal. Brit Air was second at the course gate off La Palma in the Canaries behind Romain Attanasio and Samantha Davies, nine days after the start. On the long stretch across the Atlantic Armel and Fabien limited the effects of the weakening trade winds playing a small shift to the South.

1 Brit Air Armel - Le Cleac’h and Fabien Delahaye - 22d 16h 59m
2 Banque Populaire - Jeanne Grégoire and Gérald Véniard - 22d 17h 49m
3 Cercle Vert - Bertrand de Broc and Gildas Morvan - 22d 19h 18m
4 Saveol - Romain Attanasio and Samantha Davies - 22d 19h 44m