Bombing Swell Forces Lay Day for Oxbow ASP World Longboard Championships

MAKAHA, Oahu, Hawaii - Massive swell in the 10-to-12 foot (3-4 metre) range and undesirable conditions at the famous pointbreak of Makaha on Oahu's west side have forced event officials to call another lay day for the Oxbow ASP World Longboard Championships.

The Oxbow ASP World Longboard Championships is a winner-take-all event, with this year's winner clinching the title of 2010 ASP World Longboard Champion.

"There's obviously no shortage of swell on offer today, but the conditions aren't the best for high-performance longboarding," Eli Curry, Oxbow ASP World Longboard Championships Head Judge said. "We're ready for a marathon day tomorrow and are planning on running two rounds."

Event organizers are expected to reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am local time for an expected 7:30am start.

The Oxbow ASP World Longboard Championships holds a waiting period from October 30 through November 7, 2010.

Upcoming Oxbow ASP World Longboard Championships Round 1 Match-ups:
Heat 1:
Bonga Perkins (HAW) vs. Genki Kino (JPN)
Heat 2: Amaro Matos (BRA) vs. Nobuhiro Ogashira (JPN)
Heat 3: Keegan Edwards (HAW) vs. Tony Silvagni (USA)
Heat 4: Phil Rajzman (BRA) vs. Nelson Ahina (HAW)
Heat 5: Duane DeSoto (HAW) vs. Josh Baxter (USA)
Heat 6: Colin McPhillips (USA) vs. Jackson Close (AUS)
Heat 7: Bryce Young (AUS) vs. Jared Neal (AUS)
Heat 8: Harley Ingleby (AUS) vs. Kekoa Uemura (HAW)
Heat 9: Kai Sallas (HAW) vs. Brad Weare (ZAF)
Heat 10: Matthew Moir (ZAF) vs. Alexis Deniel (FRA)
Heat 11: Eduardo Bage (BRA) vs. Andre Deca (BRA)
Heat 12: Ben Skinner (GBR) vs. Rusty Keulana (HAW)
Heat 13: Antoine Delpero (FRA) vs. James Parry (GBR)
Heat 14: Remi Arauzo (FRA) vs. Alex (Picuruta) Salazar (BRA)
Heat 15: Ned Snow (HAW) vs. Kekoa Auwae (HAW)
Heat 16:
Taylor Jensen (USA) vs. Dane Pioli (AUS)