ASP Top 17 Reactivate for Rip Curl Women’s Pro Portugal

SUBERTUBOS, Peniche/Portugal - After a three-month midyear break, the ASP Top 17 are flaring back into action with the sixth stop on the 2010 ASP Women's World Tour, the Rip Curl Women's Pro Portugal, from October 7 - 18, 2010.

Coco Ho (HAW), 19, current ASP Women's World No. 7 and defending Rip Curl Women's Portugal Champion, is excited to get back into the competitive singlet after the lengthy break and capitalize on her recent success in the ASP Star events.

“Straight after Peru, I did a trip to Brazil and got some really fun waves,” Ho said. “I did the U.S Open at Huntington and two Nike 6.0 girls trips for the movie coming out next Spring. We went to the Mentawaiis and to Mexico. It was nice having time off and just filming and stuff, but a couple weeks ago, I thought it’d be best to go to the two ASP Star events in Brazil to refocus and get on my game. That ended up working out really well and I feel ready to put the jersey on here.”

“I really like Portugal,” Ho said. “It’s such a cruisey beach town with waves on every side. It’s really pretty too!

Ho faces rookie sensation Carissa Moore (HAW), 18, and European superstar Lee Ann Curren (FRA), 21, in the opening Round of competition.

Running in conjunction with ASP Women’s World Tour event is the Rip Curl Pro Portugal, Stop No. 8 of 10 on the ASP World Tour, featuring the world’s best surfers and a red-hot ASP World Title race between Kelly Slater (USA), 28, Jordy Smith (ZAF), 21, Mick Fanning (AUS), 29, and Taj Burrow (AUS), 32.

Magicseaweed, the official forecasters for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal, are calling for massive swell for the opening days of the waiting period.

Heat 1:
Chelsea Hedges (AUS), Paige Hareb (NZL), Nikita Robb (ZAF)
Heat 2: Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Rebecca Woods (AUS), Bethany Hamilton (HAW)
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Bruna Schmitz (BRA), Cannelle Bulard (FRA)
Heat 4: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Claire Bevilacqua (AUS), Justin Dupont (FRA)
Heat 5: Silvana Lima (BRA), Rosanne Hodge (ZAF), Nicola Atherton (AUS)
Heat 6: Coco Ho (HAW), Carissa Moore (HAW), Lee Ann Curren (FRA)

Heat 1:
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA), Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 2: Dane Reynolds (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dean Morrison (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Adam Melling (AUS), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS), TBA
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Tom Whitaker (AUS), TBA
Heat 7: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Owen Wright (AUS), Chris Davidson (AUS), Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 9: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Luke Stedman (AUS)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Bobby Martinez (USA), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 12: Andy Irons (HAW), Jadson Andre (BRA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)