World’s Best Assemble on Gold Coast for ASP World Champions’ Crowning

Februari 24, 2009 @ 19:54:18   Foto ASP KIRSTIN (C) COVERED IMAGES

The Champions

1 AV 2

COOLANGATTA, Australia - The ASP World Champions’ Crowning is set to commence this Thursday, February 26, 2009 at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre beginning at 6:30pm.

Surfing’s “night of nights”, the ASP World Champions’ Crowning, is a gala event, hosting the world’s best surfers as well as distinguished figures from the surfing industry in honor of the 2008 ASP World Champions.

Kelly Slater (USA), 36, reigning and nine-time ASP World Champion, will accept his unprecedented ninth ASP World Title award on Thursday, days before beginning his hunt for an incredible 10th Crown at the upcoming Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by LG Mobile.

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 21, reigning two-time ASP Women’s World Champion, receives her second consecutive ASP Women’s World Title cup, and the young natural-footer will soon embark on a campaign to make it a three-peat in 2009. Gilmore will begin this weekend at the opening event of the 2009 ASP Women’s World Tour season, the Roxy Pro Gold Coast presented by LG Mobile.

Other ASP Dream Tour athletes to be recognized will be respective Runner-Ups Bede Durbidge (AUS), 25, and Silvana Lima (BRA), 24, as well as Rookies of the Year Dane Reynolds (USA), 23, and Nicola Atherton (AUS), 22.

Bonga Perkins (HAW), 36, and Joy Monahan (HAW), 22, will take the ASP World Longboarding and ASP Women’s World Longboarding Titles respectively, while Nathaniel Curran (USA), 24, and Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), 18, will take home hardware for their respective No. 1 finishes on the ASP World Qualifying Series last season.

In addition to honoring the champions from 2008, the ASP World Champions’ Crowning will also recognize athletes who have yet to be announced, those earning the 2008 ASP World Tour ‘Most Improved’, the 2008 ASP Women’s World Tour ‘Most Improved’, the ASP Service to the Sport Award and the prestigious Peter Whittaker Award.

The 2008 ASP World Champions’ Crowning will begin at 6:30pm on Thursday, February 26, 2009 at the Gold Coast Convention Centre.

Awards Recipient List:

2008 ASP World Champion:
Kelly Slater (USA)
2008 ASP Women’s World Champion: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2008 ASP World Tour Runner-Up: Bede Durbidge (AUS)
2008 ASP Women’s World Tour Runner-Up: Silvana Lima (BRA)

2008 ASP World Tour Rookie of the Year: Dane Reynolds (USA)
2008 ASP Women’s World Tour Rookie of the Year: Nicola Atherton (AUS)

2008 ASP World Tour ‘Most Improved’: TBA
2008 ASP Women’s World Tour ‘Most Improved’: TBA

2008 ASP World Longboard Champion: Bonga Perkins (HAW)
2008 ASP Women’s World Longboard Champion: Joy Monahan (HAW)

2008 ASP World Junior Champion: Kai Barger (HAW)
2008 ASP Women’s World Junior Champion: Pauline Ado (FRA)

2008 ASP WQS No. 1: Nathaniel Curran (USA)
2008 ASP WQS Women’s No. 1: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)


Security Image





Göteborg Open sea Race 2018. Foto GOR/Göteborgs Quinnliga Segelsällskap

Lady Godiva Sail Racing Team vinner...

Starten för årets upplaga av Göteborg Open sea Race var planerad i princip när det blåste som mest i fredags. Tävlingsledningen beslutade att skjuta på start...

VM-silver till Max Salminen

Max Salminen vann VM-silver i Finnjolle i danska Århus. Max lyckades inte behål...


Under torsdagen avslutades grundomgången round-robin och kvartsfinalerna drog ig&arin...

Caprice Match Racing Team rapporter...

Kim Kling och hans Caprice Match Racing Team har klättrat på match racing-rankin...


Internationella Seglarförbundet World Sailing har utsett Lysekil Women’s Match t...