Double eliminations complete final day of competition in Lanzarote

April 11, 2011 @ 09:55:39   Foto www.prokitetour.com


1 AV 4

Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote, Sunday, April 10, 2011, a great sunny day with cloudy periods at the PKRA Wave event here in Lanzarote. The wind and wave conditions were similar to yesterday. The waves built throughout the day from 1 to 1.5 metres with side onshore wind averaging 20 knots as the sequence for the wave double eliminations began sharply at 9:30am.


Australian rider Keahi De Aboitiz (Cabrinha, AUS) earned the double elimination title here in Lanzarote. De Aboitiz was defeated by Fabio Nunes (Phoenix, BRA) in the first men’s final by 1.30 points, but in the second final, De Aboitiz took the win with a better score of 2.73 points. Strapless maneuvers such as aerials and remarkable cutbacks on the edge of the critical section earned him the PKRA Lanzarote wave title. Fabio Nunes (Phoenix, BRA) took second overall with his impressive fast series of vertical re-entries while maintaining control and stability. Filippe Ferreira (Wainman, BRA) follows in third place with his powerful cutbacks and invigorating bottom turns.


It was a great day for Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR), the current leader in the women’s PKRA Wave discipline ranking. Schibevaag’s sharp bottom turns and explicit cutbacks earned her the title here in Lanzarote defeating Angela Peral (North, ESP) in the women’s final. Peral had amazing heat, charging her way to the top of the critical section in a vertical direction with a smooth continuous speed. Ines Correia (RRD, POR) from Portugal takes third place with her impressive style and aggressive maneuvers.


A brief award ceremony was held on the beach as competitors received their trophies and posed for pictures for fans who seek inspiration and a memorable souvenir.


The Lanzarote Santakitepro 2010 organized by La Santa Surf and sponsored in part by: Cabildo de Lanzarote, Ayuntamiento de Teguise, Lanzarote Reserva de Biosfera, Costa Teguise, Santa Surf, Servicio Insular de Deportes, Sand Beach Active, Club de Kite y Surf, Logistics World Events, Costa Noroeste, and Alayon.





1. Keahi De Aboitiz (Cabrinha, AUS)


2. Fabio Nunes (Phoenix, BRA)


3. Paulino Ferreira (Wainman, BRA)


4. Tom Hebert (North, NCL)




1. Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR)


2. Angela Peral (North, ESP)


3. Ines Correia (RRD, POR)


4. Marie Gautron (Takoon, FRA)





Security Image





Vestas 11th Hour Racing vann Götebo...

Vestas imponerade i dagens In-Port Race i Göteborg. Spanska MAPFRE säkrade segern i In-Port Series och Martin Strömbergs Turn the Tide on Plastic slutade fyra efter en stark &a...

Sveriges lag på Nord Stream Race ra...

Nu är Nord Stream Race igång igen och i år är det KSSS som ska fö...

Alinghi vann i Barcelona - Svenskt ...

Det blev succé i Spanien för de trefaldiga Extreme Sailing Series-vinnarna Alin...

Yrvind är snabb!

Sven Yrvind har gjort bra framsteg i sin lilla "Exlex". Han är snart nere i höjd med...

Julia & Hanna avsnitt 4 - "Vi ska v...

Målet är mer uttalat än någonsin för Julia och Hanna. Med Hanna ...