Night to Remember at ASP World Champions' Crowning

Februari 26, 2010 @ 19:37:44   Foto ASP (C) COVERED IMAGES


1 AV 2

COOLANGATTA, Queensland/Australia - The world's best surfers assembled at the Gold Coast Convention Centre last night for the ASP World Champions Crowning, a gala event and the premiere evening in professional surfing.

Taking top honors for the evening were Gold Coast duo Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, and Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 22, being officially crowned ASP World Champion and ASP Women's World Champion respectively.

Kelly Slater (USA), 38, former nine-time ASP World Champion and current ASP World No. 6, was present to graciously present Fanning with his ASP World Title trophy.

Joel Parkinson (AUS), 28, and Silvana Lima (BRA), 25, were honored as 2009 ASP World Runner-Up and ASP Women's World Runner-Up respectively, and both gave heartfelt speeches, acknowledging the progression of the sport and the dynamic changes that will be activated this season.

Harley Ingleby (AUS), 26, secured his inaugural ASP World Longboard Title while Jennifer Smith (USA), 23, attained her second ASP Women's World Longboard Title.

Maxime Huscenot (REU), 17, and Laura Enever (AUS), 18, were honored as ASP World Junior Champions, and usher in the next generation of sporting super talents.

Dane Reynolds (USA), 24, and Rosanne Hodge (ZAF), 22, received ASP Most Improved Awards, while Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), 24, and Coco Ho (HAW), 18, were awarded ASP Rookie of the Year titles.

Ho was honored a second time, taking out the 2009 ASP Women's World Qualifying Series (WQS), while Dan Ross (AUS), 27, was honored at the 2009 ASP WQS No. 1.

Kieren Perrow (AUS), 33, current ASP World No. 13, was honored with the ASP Peter Whitaker Award (named after the late ASP CEO) for his immeasurable contribution to the sport of surfing. Perrow was an integral voice in the enhancements to the 2010 ASP World Tour.

Layne Beachley (AUS), 37, former seven-time ASP Women's World Champion, was honored with ASP Life Membership last night, and despite not being able to attend, kindly provided a video acceptance from Vancouver where she is attending the Winter Olympics.

The world's best surfers will kick off the 2010 tour this week at Snapper Rocks for the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover and the Roxy Pro.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

ASP World Champion: Mick Fanning (AUS)
ASP Women's World Champion: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

ASP World Longboard Champion: Harley Ingleby (AUS)
ASP Women's World Longboard Champion: Jennifer Smith (AUS)

ASP World Junior Champion: Maxime Huscenot (REU)
ASP Women's World Junior Champion: Laura Enever (AUS)

ASP World Runner-Up: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
ASP Women's World Runner-Up: Silvana Lima (BRA)

ASP World Tour Most Improved: Dane Reynolds (USA)
ASP Women's World Tour Most Improved: Rosanne Hodge (ZAF)

ASP World Tour Rookie of the Year: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)
ASP Women's World Tour Rookie of the Year: Coco Ho (HAW)

ASP WQS No. 1: Dan Ross (AUS)
ASP Women's WQS No. 1: Coco Ho (AUS)

ASP Peter Whitaker Award: Kieren Perrow (AUS)

ASP Life Membership: Layne Beachley (AUS)


Security Image





Halva startfältet klart till årets ...

Det återstår mindre än två månader till Lysekil Women’s Match och intresset från seglare att delta är större än någonsin. Nu pres...


Gillar du också prylar? Här tar vi, tillsammans med Pia L'Obry och Peter Gustafs...



Ännu har vi inte lyckats pricka in Foiling Week men evenemanget klättrar hela tid...

Bol d'Or Mirabaud 2018 (video)

Anrika Bol d’Or Mirabaud är en fyra dagar lång seglarfest på vackra Lac...

Holmen Paper hjälper Wilhelm Kark a...

Wilhelm Kark är en lovande ung laser-seglare från Norrköping som satsar all...